Limoges and the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region               

The Limousin region of France is situated in the centre of rural France in an area called "Le Massif Central" and has become part of the new region called "Nouvelle-Aquitaine". It contains the 3 "départements" of Corrèze, Haute-Vienne et Creuse. Limoges is a city, the capital of the Haute-Vienne department and the former administrative capital of the Limousin region. Nouvelle-Aquitaine was created through the merger of the three regions: Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes.

Limoges is known for its medieval enamels (Limoges enamels called "émails" in French) on copper, for its 19th-century porcelain (Limoges porcelain) and for its oak barrels which are used for Cognac production.






                                        Useful links                                   

La ville de Limoges - Limoges council

L'office de tourisme de Limoges - Limoges tourist office

La maison de l'émail - Enamel house

The Limousin